Wednesday, 27 February 2019

Presidential Poll: Buhari’s 4+4 Formula Triumph, Defeats Close Contender With 15m Votes

 Image result for buhari wins election
The 4+4 formula indicating another tenure of four years for the incumbent president mohammadu Buhari has become a reality after the independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in early hours of today affirming his desires after declaring the winner of the 2019 presidential polls.
The president in his acceptance speech, at the campaign headquarters in Abuja, said his Administration will intensify its efforts in Security, Restructuring the Economy and Fighting Corruption. We have laid down the foundation and we are committed to seeing matters to the end. We will strive to strengthen our unity and inclusiveness so that no section or group will feel left behind or left out”, he told jubilant supporters.

His speech read, “First and foremost, I give thanks to Almighty God Who has spared our lives to witness another victory for Nigerian democracy and victory for our party APC.
“I thank the millions of Nigerians who voted to re-elect me as your president for the next four years. I am deeply humbled and profoundly grateful to you for judging me worthy of continuing to serve you and for your peaceful conduct.
“In particular, I would like to thank Asiwaju Bola Tinubu for his masterful leadership as Co-chair of the Campaign Council. I would like to also thank the Party Chairman Adams Oshiomhole, the Director General of the Campaign Council Rotimi Amaechi, all members of the Presidential Campaign Council and other various Support Groups.
“My grateful thanks to all those who contributed to the logistical expenses of the campaign in such a vast country like Nigeria.
“I also thank the millions of volunteers, self-appointed overseers, canvassers, agents, escorts and sentries who sacrificed so much of their time and resources to ensure the success of these elections. I do not have the words adequate to thank them.
“Although Saturday’s elections were relatively peaceful, troublemakers in a handful of states attempted to disrupt an otherwise orderly process. Security agencies will bring to justice all those arrested in the process.
“I am very sad at the grievous loss of lives during these elections. Security agencies will step up their efforts to protect voters in the forthcoming State elections.
“I would like to commend our security agencies, as severely overstretched as they are, for handling the difficult task of securing the country during the election period.
“I will like to make a special appeal to my supporters not to gloat or humiliate the opposition. Victory is enough reward for your efforts.
“We give thanks also to our Domestic and International observers for contributing to the success of our elections and for their interest in our country and our developing democracy
The PDP has, however, rejected the announced results, saying they do not reflect the votes that were cast across the country. The 19 states won by Buhari include Bauchi, Borno, Ekiti, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kogi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Osun and Yobe. Others are Sokoto, Zamfara and Kebbi
Buhari won in Bauchi polling 798,428 votes to beat Atiku who scored 209,313 votes. He also scored 836,496 to take Borno State ahead of Atiku who got 71,788 votes. In Ekiti State, Buhari scored 219, 231 votes, while Atiku polled 154, 032 votes. In Gombe State, he won with 403,961 votes to Atiku’s 138,484 votes.
The president also won Jigawa State with 794, 738 votes to defeat the PDP candidate who had 289,895 votes Buhari polled 993,445 votes in Kaduna while Atiku garnered 649,612 votes.The APC candidate won in all the 44 local government areas of Kano State to garner more than 1.4 million votes, while Atiku returned a distant second with 391,593 votes.
In Katsina, Buhari home state, he won with 1,232,133 votes to beat PDP candidate, who scored 308,056. In Kogi State, President Buhari scored 285,894 votes ahead of Atiku’s 218,207. Buhari also took Kwara State with 308,984 votes, while Atiku scored 138,984 votes. In Lagos State, Buhari won with a margin of 132,810 votes over Atiku and winning in 15 of the 20 local government areas with an overall vote of 580,825. Atiku won the remaining five local government areas and returned second with 448,015.
Buhari also defeated Atiku in Nasarawa State with 289,903 votes to 283, 847 votes. In Yobe State, he polled 497,914 votes to beat Atiku who scored 50,763 votes. The president scored 612,371 votes in Niger, where his main opponent polled 218,052 votes. In Ogun, Buhari won with 281,762 votes as opposed to his closest rival’s 194,655. He also won in Osun State with 347, 634 votes.
Atiku won in 17 states and the FCT. The states are Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Benue, Ebonyi, Edo, Enugu, Imo, Ondo, Oyo, Plateau, Taraba, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta and Rivers. He won in Adamawa State by polling 412, 266 votes to defeat President Buhari who scored 377,488. In Abia State, the PDP candidate polled 219,698 votes to return ahead of Buhari’s 85,068 votes. He defeated President Buhari in Akwa Ibom State, winning in 28 of the 31 local government areas of the state. Buhari won in only two. Elections did not take place in one local government area, Udung Uko, because of a militant attack on INEC officials.
The PDP candidate scored 397,831 votes while Buhari got 175,429 votes.In Anambra, Atiku recorded clear victory by polling 524,738 votes to defeat Buhari who had 33,298 votes. He won in Benue State with 355,355 votes against Buhari’s 347,668.The PDP candidate also won in Ebonyi State with 258, 575 votes. Buhari was far behind with 90, 726 votes. Atiku scored 275,691 votes to beat Buhari who scored 267,842 votes in Edo State.

In Enugu State, the PDP standard-bearer scored 355,553 votes to beat Buhari who got 54,423 votes. Atiku also won in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), polling 259,995 votes to Buhari’s 152,224 votes. Atiku scored 334, 923 votes in Oyo to defeat the president, who got 365,229 votes. He also won in Plateau State after scoring 548,665 votes to Buhari’s 468, 555. Atiku, in Taraba, got 374, 743 votes to defeat Buhari, who polled 324,906 votes. In Delta, Atiku won with 594,068 votes to Buhari’s 221,292 votes. He also won in Rivers State with 473,971 votes, against Buhari’s 150,710 votes. Atiku, in Bayelsa, polled 197,933 votes to beat Buhari, who got 118,820 votes. He also won in Cross River 295,737 against Buhari’s 117,302.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...